Re: #diy #skywatcher #250p Dobsonian Skywatcher 250p goto project #diy #skywatcher #250p

Khalid Baheyeldin

On Thu, Jul 8, 2021 at 12:13 PM, Arnaud V wrote:
i m new here with the project of convert my dobsonian skywatcher 250p to goto with onstep.I read almost all of the wiki but i m a bit lost with all of the board and stepper motor. my first idea was mks board l 2.1 +TMC 2209 + wemod d1 mini pro
The MKS Gen-L V2.1 is a cheap board with very little soldering required.
But its microcontroller is very slow, and you may be limited in slewing speeds (but other factors are at play, such as gear reduction, ...etc).
One way to speed up the Gen-L V2.1 is to use SPI drivers: i.e. TMC2130 or TMC5160
That allows a feature called MICROSTEPS_GOTO which can speed up slewing speed.

but no idea for motor (i see everywhere nema 17) because i m total noob with motor and gear ratio.
Best source of info on this is the Dobsonian section of the Showcase page on the Wiki.
There, you will find links to builds, and get idea on what gear reduction ratios are used, and how motion is transferred from the motors to the mount axes.

my second idea was esp32 + cnc to have wifi & bluetooth direclty on the main board.
The ESP32/CNC combination does NOT provide WiFi.
It does provide only Bluetooth.
Although the ESP32 does have WiFi hardware, there is no support in OnStep, because of technical reasons too long to explain here.

If WiFi is needed, then this board is not a good fit.

another question is must i have a shc to move the scope